Please Help!! Opinions on Onkyo and Harman Kardon

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Josh Sooy, Dec 20, 2001.

1. Josh Sooy

Josh Sooy Auditioning

I am looking at putting together a home theater system for my medium to small size family room. I have my display that I am very happy with (Toshiba 36")
    I need a reciever and Surround Speakers. I have looked around and I think I have narrowed it down to what I may purchase. I am unsure about the Harman/Kardon Speakers. The Onkyo reciever seems pretty solid. I really cant spend much more money than what is in the package below.
    I would love opinions on the Speakers especially and throw in your 2cents about the reciever as well. Please help me out I am very new to the whole audio scene.
    Oh.. stuff I want this system to work well with
    Games (PS2, Dreamcast)
    DVDs
    Audio Cds (at least good sound with cds)
    Also.. I really cant spend much more than listed below. If there is a speaker set that is a couple hundred more I would consider it. But I cant go above 1000 for the setup.
    Harman/Kardon HKTS 5 Home Theater Speaker System$329.99
    http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?...ts5&iWID=48134
    Onkyo TX-DS595 Digital Surround Receiver$369.99
    http://www.etronics.com/product.asp?...595&iWID=48133
    Thanks,
    Josh

2. Josh Sooy

Josh Sooy Auditioning

Also.. not to sound like an idiot.. but I am really new to this stuff. The power handling on the H/K Speakers is 70 Watts each. The Onkyo pushed 75 Watts to each chanel. Is this a problem?

Josh

3. Sheldon

Sheldon Stunt Coordinator