PLEASE HELP, Losing faith in my purchases

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Chris*C, Dec 29, 2003.

  1. Chris*C

    Chris*C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just switched from cable to Directv with just the basic receiver and the PQ on my Panny PT50LC13 HDTV looks worse than it did with cable! Very soft picture, kind of chalky looking, D* looks great on my 32" TV. UGHHH!!!
    I have not gotten a HDTV receiver yet, but will be soon.
    My question is will the PQ improve on my 50" Panny with the
    HD receiver? I know the HD channels will be better, (I'm becoming skeptical about the HD PQ too) but will SD channels look better?
    Do I have to just deal with this crappy PQ, I hope it can be improved because I'm really losing sleep with the amount of money I'm spending.
     
  2. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    On your big set, try switching your video output from whatever you're using, composite or S-video. Maybe you'd do better with the other? My Hughes DirecTV Tivos do standard def fairly well, no complaints. Did they give you RCA equipment?
     
  3. Chris*C

    Chris*C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    The D* box is RCA with S-Video.
     
  4. Chu Gai

    Chu Gai Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2001
    Messages:
    7,270
    Likes Received:
    1
    Are you running it through your receiver?
     
  5. Chris*C

    Chris*C Auditioning

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    NO, I guess I need to know what kind of PQ I should expect.
    When I watch a good DVD like LOTR PQ is oustanding on my big screen. Comparatively the SDTV PQ is 50% worse, less sharp less clear, less watchable!!!
     
  6. Jerome Grate

    Jerome Grate Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 23, 1999
    Messages:
    2,978
    Likes Received:
    6
    You may have to address the settings on you satellite box. Click Menu, then select picture. try adjusting the picture from the satellite box and then see what it looks like.
     
  7. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Chris, just because the RCA box has S-video doesn't mean that it will work better than composite might with your TV. You should try both. RCA equipment usually has a decent picture but horrid ergonomics and very slow menu functions. I got 1 Hughes Tivo and 1 RCA box in my package deal. A few weeks later I had a second Hughes Tivo and the RCA was on a shelf. RCA has a not so good rep.

    Have you tried switching the two satelite boxes out? Who knows...?

    BTW, I saw ESPN HD off satelite (DirecTV) at a friend's house last week and it looked really good.
     

Share This Page