What's new

Please Help, I Am A Newbie With Good Questions... (1 Viewer)

AbelM

Second Unit
I totally need your God for-saken help...please tell me what to do...This is for a new sub I just got.
1. What should the LFE be for DD!? It can go all the way down to -20.0 and up to 0.0.
2. What should the LFE be for DTS!? It can go all teh way dowm to -20.0 and up to 10.
3. What should the SUB OUTPUT LVL BE? It can go all the way dowm to -20.0 and up to 0.0.
4. What should my bass volume be set at?
Thank You very much, just put it in laymen terms, should be quick for you guys to answer, since you say it all the time. Please just let me know in the right direction of these questions, I really want to have a nice set-up, and with your guys' help, I can
:) :) :) :frowning:

ColinM

Senior HTF Member
It's different for every situation.
Start by keeping your receivers levels at half, or -10 i guess. Then play a test cd, if you have one, or sub pink noise, if you can do that, or just watch or listen to something you know. Bring up the sub's level bit by bit until 'you like it'.
Then go out and get:
A radio shack SPL meter
A test DVD, if you have a DVD player.
Have fun!:D

AbelM

Second Unit
Oh sorry Collin, I got the (Don't laugh it was a Christmas Gift) the NS-P220 Yamaha Speaker Package. So are you guys' saying put everything at half way and turn it either up or down to my likeling?

I have a better idea (since I am such a newbie, first 5.1 system I have ever owned) tell me like what you guys have it on, and I'll put it on that...or somewhere near that...

And yes, I have a Toshiba DVD player...love it.

Here's my equipment:

Yamaha HTR 5450

Sony 5 Disc CD Changer

Toshiba Flat Screen

Yamaha Speaker Package (NS-P220)

nolesrule

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Joe Kauffman
What ColinM is saying is you need to set up the subwoofer using a test disc and a sound level (SPL) meter to get those settings to the right spot because each setup and room acoustics will be different.