What's new

Please help figure out wiring and interconnects (1 Viewer)

lptudor

Grip
Real Name
'J.R.' Riddell
Please help me figure out what I need to purchase in order to set up my brand new system from the ground up in terms of wiring and interconnects. I'm ordering all of the equipment listed below, and believe I can hook it all up, but I'm new to HDMI and surround sound, so could use some assistance. I've tried to figure it out on my own, but seem to get more confused re what I need to properly set up this system.

The AVR, DVR/cable box and DVD player will be housed in a closet and will support two separate TVs in different rooms. I am bringing in an electrician to supply new outlets and he can install wall plates for the surround speakers to hook into as well. (Note: I plan to run the speaker wires to the exact location of the speakers -- so I would like advice on whether it's necessary to run banana plug connect type wall plates or whether I can just run a wire through some sort of wall plate and hook it directly into the banana plug on the back of the speaker.]

The equipment is as follows:

-TV 1: Panasonic TH-50PX77U (50" 720p plasma)
-TV 2: Toshiba Regza 26HL67 (26" 720p LCD)
-AVR: Onkyo TX-SR605 (HDMI switching and video conversion)
-Speakers: Aperion (422 [left, right and rear surrounds]; 422-C
; S-8 sub
-DVR: Dish Network HD DVR ViP622 [although I could stick with Comcast and get their DVR]
-DVD: Toshiba HD-A2)
-Remote: Logitech Harmony 890
-Mount: Peerless RTFPF-320

I'm open to all suggestions re wire gauge, brands, and you name it.

Thank you!!​

Alon Goldberg

Screenwriter
Real Name
Alon Goldberg
Hi lptudor, you've definately done your homework, I don't think you need much assistance ;)

Only one thing, in order to connect both TV's via HDMI you'll also want to purchase a 1x2 HDMI splitter. I would cable as follows:

- HD-A2 HDMI OUTPUT ===> ONKYO 605 HDMI INPUT
- HD-DVR HDMI OUPUT ===> ONKYO 605 HDMI INPUT