Please help... "Disc Not Formatted" problem.....

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Walt Riarson, Nov 15, 2002.

1. Walt Riarson

Walt Riarson Supporting Actor

This is my first time visiting this forum, since i've never had major computer problems before, so I apologize if this problem has been covered in other threads.

Anyway...

I was using a floppy disc yesterday to work on a something I am writing, but today, when I put the disc in and try to open the file, it says "Disc is not formatted".

What happened and how can i recover the file? Can i even recover it at all?

If the file is lost, I will have lost 60 pages, so I hope somebody out there can help me. I'll appreciate it.

2. Mike St.Louis

Mike St.Louis Supporting Actor

I assume you are using a PC running Windows.

There are a couple of things you can try:

1. Remove the disk and re-insert it a few times. See if you can access it then.

2. Were you using the diskette on a different machine? Sometimes only the last computer to write to the disc can access it correctly. Try the disk on a different machine.

3. If you still can't access the disk then chances are it is damaged. Floppy disks are not as reliable as they used to be. You can try and repair the disk with a repair program. Windows comes with a free program called 'Scandisk' which is usally found under 'Start > Programs > Accessories'. A better program is Norton Disk Doctor. If you have access to one of these programs, run it and select the floppy drive with your disk in it. The program will try and access your disk and repair any damage.

Unfortunately these things do not usually turn out well. At best you may recover some of your document.

Good luck.

3. Walt Riarson

Walt Riarson Supporting Actor