What's new

Please Help! Confused: Which AV Receiver? (1 Viewer)

Sean_F

Auditioning
Dear Smart People of the HT realm,

I am a newbie somewhat in this new HT thing. I have tried to read up on everything but I am stumped when it comes to what AV receiver I should get. I know this much:

1: In my room that I built I wired it for 6.1 surround.

2: I can't spend more than about $800.00

3: I want the most POWER/FEATURES for the money

I have read up on many of the new models and they are all 7.1. I can never get a real answer sure answer if a 7.1 receiver will work for 6.1? I heard that you have to do some reprogramming to make it work, I also here it will do it just fine. Should I just stick with a 6.1 receiver and If so which one do you recommend. As for speakers, I'm getting all Polk brand Rti6's L/R and CS3 center,PSW-12 SUB, still thinking about the surrounds.

I want this to sound good, but I don't want to kill my finances over it. One min I think Harman, then I think Denon, then I think... well you know..

So what say you? I hear this is the best place to get answers, so here I am.

Thanks in advance!

Sean

SethH

Senior HTF Member
I assume you're looking at the Denon 2106 vs the H/K 340 based on price. By most accounts, both are very good receivers. You might do a search on the forum to see if anyone is running one of these receivers with the speakers you plan to get.

Is there anyway to run another wire for 7.1? Probably not, but I thought I'd ask.

Also, for the sub, you may want to consider an internet-direct brand such as Hsu or SVS. These often offer more bang-for-the-buck than retail subs.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Rest at ease. All 7.1 AVR's I am aware of and Pre/Pro's support 5.1 and 6.1 as well.

Parker Clack

Schizophrenic Man
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Parker
Sean: