What's new

Please approve my system before I lay down the cash.. (1 Viewer)

Matt Amato

Stunt Coordinator
I've been investigating my first HT sound purchases and have all but decided on the following.
(Ballpark prices courtesy of shop.yahoo.com and jandr.com)
Panasonic SA-HE100 $240.00
4 JBL S26 $320.00
JBL S-Center $130.00
JBL PB-12 $250.00
Wiring $100.00
--------------------------
$1040.00
I'm looking for feedback on this system before I buy it. I'm a newbie and want to avoid buyers remorse or an early case of upgraditis. I have already purchased a Panny RP82 and Panny 47 inch(Delivery is tomorrow!) :) Do you think I can do any better in this price range? Are there any weak points with this setup? I like good bass, will I be happy with the sub or should I really look into getting an SVS? My only real subwoofer experience is with the Klipsch Promedia 4.1 setup for PCs. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.
Matt

Rob Rodier

Supporting Actor
check out the prices at harmanaudio.com. They might have the jbl speakers or something comporable for less. They also have an HK avr110 for around $190 that I IMAGINE would better the panny. This stuff is refurbed but I have had a good experience with it in the past, as have others I have sent their way. Good luck

-rob

Pablo Abularach

Supporting Actor
Matt,

You will have a very good setup,

The only thing that I will reconsider will be the Reciever, I think you should go for Pioneer 811, all the recent reviews and comments about this reciever are great. For $60 extra I think is worth it. Or maybe wait for the Denon1803.

Although the PB12 isnt a bad sub, it it design for the N series (I'm not saying it wont sound great), but the 120 is the one that JBL recommends for S series. And for a little more you could get an SVS 25-31PCi(incredible sub). But you could take this as a future upgare.

Any way you go. You will have a great system.

anthony_b

Screenwriter