What's new

Plate amp to box help.... (1 Viewer)

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
OK...got my amp from CSS Mondau & it came with no instructions. I emailed them for some help that night & have gotten no reply as of yet.
The amp is not enclosed, so I think I am supposed to build a box to cove the back so as to not leave the circuit board, etc. exposed inside enclosure, right?
What do I do with the wires which have the driver connections from the amp.
Do I just notch the edge of amp enclosure to fit over wires, then calk it?

Also, the seperate control panel with amp gain & crossover
(I guess) that has to get back to amp, has an open back as well with exposed circuits.
The same question applies here.

Thanks.....Cam
 

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
OK...got my amp from CSS Mondau & it came with no instructions. I emailed them for some help that night & have gotten no reply as of yet.
The amp is not enclosed, so I think I am supposed to build a box to cove the back so as to not leave the circuit board, etc. exposed inside enclosure, right?
What do I do with the wires which have the driver connections from the amp.
Do I just notch the edge of amp enclosure to fit over wires, then calk it?

Also, the seperate control panel with amp gain & crossover
(I guess) that has to get back to amp, has an open back as well with exposed circuits.
The same question applies here.

Thanks.....Cam
 

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
Change of plans....extra bracing wont allow amp enclosure to
fit in side box, so amp will be in box mounted outside of
sub enclosure. Guess I need cups now....lol.
 

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
Change of plans....extra bracing wont allow amp enclosure to
fit in side box, so amp will be in box mounted outside of
sub enclosure. Guess I need cups now....lol.
 

Jason Dalton

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Feb 20, 2004
Messages
174
How much of the brace is in the way? can you notch it?

BTW, if the amp has no enclosure I am almost positive that all the connections are sealed. Especially with the amps CSS is selling, they're quality amps.
 

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
Pat,

Very nice, I had already started on a box, but this has some additional good ideas.....thanks alot.

Jason, the inside measurement is 20.5" minus the 3/4"
MDF....the amp requires a 9.5" inside dia. box which I
had made out of 3/4" MDF...that came to 11" O.D. which you can see would require major alterations somewhere...:frowning:


I have already bought the cup I will place on the side of the box.
My Tempest & ports came in about 30 mins. ago, so now I
can look at cutting driver & port holes.
 

Cam McFarland

Supporting Actor
Joined
Feb 6, 2004
Messages
699
Jason.....just saw addition to your post.


ANYBODY......if the amp is not enclosed....does it need to be?????


nevermind about the amp question...gonna stick with the exterior enclosure anyway.
 

StephenHa

Second Unit
Joined
Sep 28, 2003
Messages
364
it doesn't have to be, most enclosures are vented anyway, you just have to be sure nothing can get knocked into the circuit and cause a short
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Forum Sponsors

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
348,770
Messages
4,856,916
Members
142,377
Latest member
runemesa
Recent bookmarks
0
Top