1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Plasma vs. LCD

Discussion in 'Displays' started by hargrave, Jan 9, 2004.

1. hargrave

hargrave Auditioning

LCD vs. Plasma. What is the acceptance of one over the other? Pro and con... Is one on the way out and another on the way in?

2. itai

itai Stunt Coordinator

Hi
    I’m no expert, but seems to me that in the long run, lcd would prevail. it feels like a simpler (no pressurized gas...) technology.
    but that’s just speculating over what i read...lcd, right now, excides hd resolution, and hit the 40" size, with room to grow.
    also, plasma has the fading brightness effect (defect), which lcd doesn’t (?).
    Personally, im waiting for lcd to mature, skipping the plasma thing. (Waiting to get richer also!...)
    [​IMG]

3. Leo Kerr

Leo Kerr Screenwriter

Plasmas, in my experience, suffer a couple of dreadful flaws.

1. Screen burn. Don't believe anyone who says, 'ours don't burn,' or, 'we've fixed that problem.' Not yet, and maybe never.

2. Screen latency. Looks like burn, but it does fade. We've got a Samsung 68" on display, and if you select any of the picture adjust menus, they'll leave a ghost. If you're doing any serious adjustments - more than five minutes - it might take 45 minutes or so for it to fade.

LCDs have their own problems.

1. Screen latency. Most large panels take a distinctly visible amount of time to change a cell's state.

2. Angle of acceptance. Often times worse than rear projectors.

The technology fairies promise us, however, that OLEDs are going to solve all the world's ills. Personally, they've been saying that just a little too long for me to take them seriously any more. Regular LED screens can make some incredible displays, however - assuming that you don't mind a pixel pitch of, say, .25".

Leo Kerr
    [email protected]

4. Rich H

Rich H Second Unit