What's new

Planning Ahead (1 Viewer)

Xander H

Agent
Hey all! I'm new to these forums and I'm new to the whole Home Theater thing so you may have to bear with me. I'm building a room in my basement that I'm going to make into my television room.

I don't have a huge TV, but it is a 30" digital and I've got a nice progressive scan DVD player to go with it. Great picture, just no sound. So since I'm building down there anyway I figured I might as well upgrade and get a nice receiver and some speakers to go with it.

After lurking around for a bit and searching these forums, I think I found a good receiver for my price range that should work well for what I want in the VSX-1015TX from Pioneer.

Hopefully I can get it for around 400 dollars (a friend of mine has a discount at Best Buy) so if I can, that would leave me with anywhere between 600 and 900 dollars to get 7 speakers and a sub.

I don't know much if anything about speakers and subs in Home Theater, and I don't really have any preferences (though I've had good experiences with BA and Bose and with Infinity in my car stereo). If I could get them from Best Buy also it would be great, but all recommendations I'll consider and research. :)

Thanks for the help and advice everyone!

Aaron_Mum

Stunt Coordinator
Hey Xander:

If I were you I'd put that cash towards two front mains and a sub. You are spreading yourself too thin trying to buy a full 7.1 system for 6-900 bucks. Buy your system in peices and build it over time or you are just going to want to upgrade all your stuff anyway.

Mains: $400 bookshelves (and stands) Go used and save at Audiogon
Sub: SVS PB-10 $429

Set the mains to phantom center for home theater and you are away with a great starter system. Do your research on your future system and pick up the matching center and surrounds to your mains when you can afford them. In the meantime hookup some crap rears that cost you nothing to hold you over.