Pioneer VSX-D811S vs. Yamaha RX-V530 vs. Onkyo TX-SR600, 1st Time Buyer!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Morlan Liu, Feb 19, 2003.

1. Morlan Liu

Morlan Liu Stunt Coordinator

Hi everyone,

This is my first attempt at a HT. I want to spend about < $350 on a receiver.

So far these three receivers are what I'm looking at.

Also, the Pioneer HTP-720DV system which comes with the VSX-D811S receiver and DV-353S DVD player and 6 speakers with a subwoofer is also an option for $500. Basically paying $100 more then the components to get a basic set of speakers. Anyone have experience with this system?

So what'll it be? Get the HTP-720DV system or one of the other receivers with a separate speaker set?

Any other receiver suggestions? Thanks for all your help in advance!

Oh, this system is going to go with my Sony Wega 27" that I got over Christmas. My room is very small, 25 sq. ft? I will be using Dish Network receiver, PS2, and DVD.

2. Vincent_S

Vincent_S Second Unit

That system you mentioned sounds like a good deal for the budget you have. Are you sure about the sq. ft.? No offense but that sounds like the size of a closet. Maybe you meant 250 sq. ft.?

3. Morlan Liu

Oops...haha, yeah I meant 200-250 sq. ft.

4. ChadLB

ChadLB Screenwriter

You may want to wait Pioneer is releaseing to receivers:
    http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/Pi...,92533,00.html

I owned the Onkyo 600 but had to return it due to small issues but I did prefer the sound of the Onkyo over The Pioneer 811 which I own for right now.
    Like most people say the Pioneer does its job for movies but lacks in the music dept unless you use the midnight mode.

5. Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer