What's new

Pioneer vsx-d811s or Yamaha HTR-5560 (1 Viewer)

Oachalon

Stunt Coordinator
Basically the subject says it all. I want to know which one i am better off getting. Will i tell the difference from discrete 6 channel or the matrixed 6.1. Which receiver actually puts out more power. Its a hard pick what does everyone think i should get.

Thanks

Mike boettner

Stunt Coordinator
All I can say is Yamaha. I will only do Yamaha. Sounds great, built like a tank and lasts for ever!

Mike

ThomasL

Supporting Actor
Discrete will always be better than matrix. I assume you're referring to DTS-ES Discrete and DTS-ES Matrix. There are very few DTS-ES Discrete titles though.

I picked up the Pioneer VSX-D811S (see earlier threads) and have been giving it a test run while I decide if I'm going to move to the Onkyo SR600 instead. I have no experience with Yamaha but I think at this price point, depending on your peripheral equipment, you're not going to find a big difference in any direction. The Pioneer model seems to work fine and has plenty of power for my small room (13.5 x 12.5 x 8).

cheers,

--tom

StevenK

Second Unit
From the specs, they look pretty much identical...so you're going to have to go on whichever sounds better to YOU. I chose the Yamaha because of the Yammies reliability and build quality reputation. I haven't heard the Pioneer, but the Yammie sounded warm but but not as smooth as the H/K 520 (in terms of music).

Oachalon

Stunt Coordinator
Alright everyone thanks for all the help. Im going to get the Yamaha i made my choice. Right now my speakers are yamaha but those will probably replaced soon, but i have had good luck with yamaha.

Barry_B_B

Second Unit
Real Name
Barry
You won't be sorry; I switched from Pioneer to Yamaha a few years ago and never looked back, big change in performance. :emoji_thumbsup:

Wayne Ernst

Senior HTF Member
Im going to get the Yamaha i made my choice.