Pioneer VSX-D711 not ouputting to sub in stereo

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Adam Y, Sep 19, 2003.

  1. Adam Y

    Adam Y Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Pioneer VSX-D711 receiver being fed optical digital audio from an RCA sat receiver and coaxial digital audio from a JVC XV-S500BK. When I put the receiver in Stereo mode my Onkyo sub is not being used. It works fine when the receiver is in PLII or DTS or 5.1. What am I doing wrong?

    Adam
     
  2. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you have your main speakers set to large? If so, they are being fed a full range signal. You'll have to set them to small so everything below the crossover point is sent to the subwoofer. You could also leave them as large and set the subwoofer to "Plus". This sends a full range signal to the speakers AND sends everything below the crossover point to the subwoofer.

    Hope this helps [​IMG]
     
  3. Adam Y

    Adam Y Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, I do have them set to SMALL but I will double check that. I thought maybe it is because I am sending a digital only signal from my sat and dvd components. Should I have analog audio cables connected to my receiver from the sat and dvd as well as the digital connections?

    Adam
     
  4. Stephen Hopkins

    Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2002
    Messages:
    2,598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Analog/Digital shouldn't make a difference. I had a digital feed to a 711 from my computer for a few months and always had sub output in stereo mode.
     
  5. Frank joe

    Frank joe Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok i have the same problem , seems the information that is sent to the lfe line ( sub out) only gets signal during a movie soundtrack. while usuing a cd gives you no signal at the lfe line. thats why you sub wont play with cd music. have you corrected this problem yet?
    frank
     
  6. Adam Y

    Adam Y Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I had my surround speakers set to LARGE. I must have accidentally hit some wrong buttons because it just started doing this about a week ago. The sub is working with any source now. Thanks for the replies.

    Adam
     

Share This Page