Pioneer VSX-1014TX-K Monitor Out

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Steve_L, Jan 15, 2005.

1. Steve_L

Steve_L Stunt Coordinator

Hey guys, I am hoping someone familiar with the 1014 can help me out. I am a newbie to the 1014 and to HT in general. Just bought it for X-mas along with a Synergy F-3 Klipsch surround system and a new Sony KDF-42W TV.

I am just getting everything all connected and trying to test it all.

My current issue is with my connectivity between the Comcast Cable box to the 1014 and then to the TV.

I do not seem to be able to get a video signal from the receiver to the TV. I have two video connections from the 1014 to the TV, the first comes from the "Monitor Out" jack (as depicted on page 8 of the less than helpful manual) and I've got this going to my Sony Input Video Input 4. This works and I can get my 1014 System Setup menu to show up on the screen on this. The other Video out, and the one I can't get to work is the Monitor Out that is Component Video Out. (The top set of Component Video Outs with the two below it being assignable.)

I've got these going to my Component Video IN #6 on the back of the Sony, but the Sony just refuses to see the signal.

Page 15 of the manual discusses and has a chart/grid, that talks about the Monitor out, but it is barely comprehensible to my mind. It seems to be saying that you can use different input sources and get component out, but with some exceptions and it leaves out the Optical issue completely.

I don't seem to be able to get Optical out of the Comcast box fed into the Satto go into the TV.

Can anyone help me with this? I guess what I'm concerned about is that I'm not getting the digital audio into the receiver either, or how to I tell.

Also, are various audio formats broadcast with HDTV? I'm wondering if it is anything more than stereo?

Thanks for any and all help!

This forum is a great source for newbies like me.

Thanks in advance!

2. James Phung

James Phung Second Unit