What's new

Pioneer MOSFET AMPS: pros/cons (1 Viewer)

Kelly Scott Rickards

Stunt Coordinator
I notice Pioneer uses MOSFET amps but I have no experience with these type of amps...

What are the Pros and Cons of MOSFET amps?

RicP

Screenwriter
My Parasound 1500A uses a MOSFET output stage as well. Basically MOSFET (Metal Oxide Semiconductor Field Effect Transistor) is the opposite of bi-polar, which is another very common output stage in power amplifiers.
Bi-polar devices are switched on by current running through them, while MOSFET devices are switched on by voltage -- which is how vacuum tubes operate as well.
MOSFET's have some other technical attributes and they tend to sound a little warmer than bi-polar amps. A smooth treble that can tame bright tweeters and a warm midrange are the characteristics of a MOSFET amp.
The one drawback for the liquidy warm treble is a less than perfectly detailed sound. A bi-polar amp will sound sharper and may have more defined soundstaging, at the expense of MOSFET's warmer tone.
This is sometimes referred to as "MOSFET mist".
I love MOSFET amps, and they are an excellent match with speakers that tend toward the bright side like Paradigm. :)

Robert George

Screenwriter
What Ric said...;)
I also fell in love with the sonic characteristics of MOSFET amps when I bought my last Pioneer Elite receiver, the VSX-29TX. That receiver had (has) a warmth and smoothness of sound that I had never heard in a Japanese receiver up to that time.
But, as Ric also notes, there can be some loss in detail. If one is using a MOSFET design, it must be well executed and be coupled with a very good preamp section. It was in this area I found the Pioneer 29TX was lacking. While it has a very pleasant sound in general terms, once one gets used to the basic sound quality, one is subject to begin finding the receiver's shortcomings, which is mainly lack of fine detail and a rather blurred forward soundstage.