Pioneer Elite Only Has 2 Component Inputs

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Jay Foster, Jan 29, 2006.

  1. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    and no HDMI or DVI. I have a BenQ 720p projector and it accepts HDMI and component. The problem is I have dvd player and a dvd recorder both of which need component hook-ups. My cable box has a DVI out. I would prefer to run them all directly to the BenQ, hopefully, with some sort of 3 to 1 connectionn order to run directly to the BenQ. Is there something out there like this?
     
  2. Jongyoon Lee

    Jongyoon Lee Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey,

    I appreciate the help. But, it does not have a DVI in/out and I need that for the cable box. My thought was to run 2 components (dvd player & recorder) to the switch and then run the cable box dvi out to the switch. And then from the switch run a dvi cable with a hdmi connector on the end directly to the projector.
     
  4. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I found the iscan hd+ which will do what I want BUT I noticed it is HDCP compliant. I have the liteon as my component. Will the iscan "scale-down" (if that is the correct language) the image from 1080?
     
  5. Jongyoon Lee

    Jongyoon Lee Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There are professional scalers from various places, but they will cost $1,000 and up. If you are going to budget that much on a video switch, why not upgrade your receiver to 74xvi, which provides the same upconversion without adding additional device?
     
  6. MikeNg

    MikeNg Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2004
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can run DVI to HDMI, so run the cable box direct to the Benq (there are adapters available that do this). Then get a component switcher like the one mentioned above.
     
  7. Jay Foster

    Jay Foster Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jongyoon,

    The problem with the 74txvi is that it does not have a dvi in/out and my cable box has a dvi out.

    Thanks to you both because with your suggestions, I solved my problem.
     

Share This Page