Pioneer Elite ES-1000 HTIB?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by wayne p, Sep 2, 2003.

1. wayne p

wayne p Stunt Coordinator

A friend of mine is moving to a condo, so space is at a premium. He wants to set up a HT in a spare bedroom, approx 11x14, so is looking at HTIB. He wants simplicity, some reasonable assurance it will not be outdated in a few months, and of course decent sound. Multi room would be a bonus, but not essential.

He asked for my opinion but I have no experience with HTIB. I have searched a bit, and note Pioneer has this ES-1000 which plays DVD, CD, DVD-A, SACD, etc. It has small speakers and a free standing front display so the hardware can be placed out of site (WAF very important here). The MSRP in Canada is $2400.00 Canadian.

I would appreciate hearing from anyone who has experience with this unit, or with other suggestions.

Thanks
    Wayne P

2. wayne p

Any input would be appreciated. He wants to make his purchase next week.

Wayne P

3. Andrew Pratt

Andrew Pratt Producer

Wayne given that budget I think something more like the Energy Take 5 system with a decent receiver would do him well plus they're easy to find locally (at least hear in Winnipeg) You can get the Take's in white if that helps the wife and they still sound pretty decent for their size.

4. wayne p

Thanks for responding Andrew.

I must agree with you , however my friend wants a system which will take up minimum space. Sacraficing size and apperance (the later being in the eye of the beholder) for sonic performance is contrary to my philosophy on all things audio. I believe we are fighting the WAF factor here.