What's new

Pioneer DV-563A Audio..... Help!! (1 Viewer)

Albert C

Agent
After reading up here about the DV-563A I went out and bought one yesterday at Best Buy.

The DVD video playback is looks and sounds great! It is replacing my Toshiba SD6200, mainly due to its other features. That's where I am having some problems.

I am new to SACD and DVD Audio. I bought "Dark Side Of The Moon" to try out SACD and Fleetwood Mac's "Say You Will" to try out the DVD Audio. It is output to my Teac Dolby Digital (No DTS) receiver via the digital coax connection (my Dish 6000 unit utilizes the one optical digital input of my receiver).

1) DVD-Audio (Say you Will - Fleetwood Mac) - When I insert the disc, My receiver switches to DD surround for a moment, then switches to DD>PCM when the sound starts on the main menu. It then plays all selections in DD>PCM 2 speaker mode. I thought I was supposed to get surround sound on all 5 channels. I have the Digital Audio Out setting "connected" and told the DV-563A that I my receiver was Dolby Digital compatable and DTS incompatable. The disc boasts "This disc plays 3 ways: Advanced Resolution Surround, Advanced Resolution Stereo, and DVD-Video Compatable Dolby Digital".
It has DTS, Dolby Digital, and AC3 Surround Dolby Digital logos. How do I get surround?

2) SACD (Dark Side Of The Moon - Pink Floyd) - I get no sound. Does the 5.1 SACD Surround Sound Mix output through the same path as the DVD Audio? I set the SACD Playback option to "Multi-ch Area".

3) Since I have monster Jensens as my front L-R speakers I have no need for a subwoofer. I turned SW off. Is that correct?

This may be an all-in-one unit, but it seems you can't just pop in a disc and play. For a nucklehead like me that's a problem. Even worse, my wife will never figure it out. She gets mad about things like this. She still hasn't figured she needs to change the TV inputs to watch DVDs. If the JPG photo part works when the disk is popped in, I may be saved. Oh my!