Pioneer cld-d406 dts output ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Robert_eb, May 15, 2002.

  1. Robert_eb

    Robert_eb Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2001
    Messages:
    965
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do I need an RF-Demodulator for dts playback on this model or any model. I'm not quite sure if you need a demodulator for both AC-3 playback and dts.
     
  2. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    You need a demodulator for AC-3 Dolby Digital. DTS will go through the same digital cable that carries PCM (CD audio).
     
  3. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert, Philip is right on. RF demodulators are only for Dolby Digital soundtracks. In fact, they are often referred to AC-3 RF demodulators. The back panel of the 'D406 has an AC-3 RF output. You run a coaxial digital cable from this output to the AC-3 RF input on the demodulator and then an optical digital or coaxial digital cable from the demodulator to your pre/pro or receiver. I used to own the 'D406 and a Sony MOD-RF1 demodulator and this set-up worked great.
     

Share This Page