Pioneer 811 and NSP-1 speakers

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JimLinkous, Dec 6, 2002.

1. JimLinkous

JimLinkous Auditioning

I'm considering purchasing the Pioneer 811 to drive JBL NSP-1 speakers. It will be used as a second system in a family room, 90% HT and video games(XBOX), lots of kids, very little music. I think the 811 would be a good choice considering all the features and a price of $270. Want to keep this a budget system with kids in the house.

However, I have two areas of concern. I've seen the NSP1 speakers rated at 6ohms. Will the Pioneer drive these speakers since the specs state 8-16 ohms. Also, the crossover setting only goes down to 100 and the NSP1 are rated down to 80.

Anyone use the 811 with the NSP1's?

PS, I'm a newbie, please be easy on me.

Jim Linkous

2. Lyden

Lyden Stunt Coordinator

i have the Pioneer 810s and it drove my friends 4ohm speakers and i dident have any problems with it clicking or anything like that but then again something tells me that the amp inside the 810s is differant from the amp inside the 811s so im not exactly sure. but to be safe dont got below 8ohms, hmm if the pioneer can actualy handel 6oms is there a way to get something to make my towers look like 6ohms to the amp? the little extra power would be nice ...
    i'd usualy go by the manual but my reciver did push 4ohm set for a few hours so just maybe 6ohms is ok [​IMG]... im sure someone knows the answer with all the facts

3. ThomasL

ThomasL Supporting Actor

Jim, my opinion is that it would probably drive them fine especially if you're not listening at really LOUD levels. Others have had problems but personally, I've never had problems driving two pairs of 8 ohm bookshelf speakers off of Pioneer receivers (D309) which presented the receiver with a nominal 4 ohm load - this was of course only in 2 channel stereo mode.