Pioneer 1014 won't decode DVD's

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by perryG, Mar 10, 2005.

1. perryG

perryG Auditioning

I just bought a 1014 and it seems like a nice unit. I followed the advice from this forum and bought one. I am new to all this surround sound stuff and am a little puzzeled why the unit won't decode DVD's. I hit the auto surround sound button and it always comes up with STEREO as the source. It never comes up with any of the surround sound formats. I can manually select them but then it is only simulating surround sound is it not? According to the manual it should find and decode whatever format is there and the correct mode indicator should light up like dolby prologic etc. I have tried Matrix Reloded, Star Wars, and AI. What am I doing wrong here. The DVD player is connected by analog cable connections for Audio and Video.

Perry

2. James Phung

James Phung Second Unit

You need to connect your dvd player using either digital coax or digital optical cable from your dvd player to 1014. Make sure you assign the digital inputs to the right source inthe 1014 set up and also have your dvd player outputting the correct sound in its audio set up menu.

3. John S

John S Producer

Yep, exactly what James posted.

4. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    If you use stereo analog connections, then stereo is all you will get. If you used 6 analog channels, your receiver has nothing to decode, the signal is already decoded by the player.

When you make the digital connection, which is the recommended choice for movies, you will also have to make sure your DVD player's digital audio settings are correct - Dolby Digital is normally on by default, but you may have to turn DTS on, and set each to "bitstream" rather than PCM (depending on the options in your player).

5. perryG

perryG Auditioning