What's new

Pinnacle Speakers, any opinions? (1 Viewer)

Adam_R

Second Unit
I posted this earlier to the Basics area and didn't get much response. I'm fairly new to HT and was looking for some honest opinions on my gear, my speakers in particular. I haven't seen much talk about the Pinnacle products. Maybe I haven't dug deep enough yet. Please let me know if you have much knowledge of the Pinnacle line and if you think my setup is decent.
Denon AVR-3802
Fronts: Pinnacle AC650's
Center: Pinnacle AC Widescreen Center
Surrounds: Pinnacle AC400's
Sub: SVS 20-39PCi (currently in transit on a UPS truck!)
I've had the speakers for a few years now, and had them running off a crummy old under-powered Pioneer Pro-Logic receiver. I just got the Denon a week ago, and the speakers have come alive! I'm wondering if they are really that good, or I'm just used to a weak receiver. Thanks.:D

Jim J

Second Unit
Hi Adam, welcome to the forum!

I am a fan of Pinnacle. I had the the AC600s, which are nearly the same as your 650s, slightly different cabinet dimensions, higher x-over point, and magnetically shielded. I had them for a few years myself, until I recently switched to Michauras (3 pairs for less than $300!).

I also had the widescreen center. I have 2 pairs (one set I loaned to my mother) of AC400s.

Pinnacle seems to always get good reviews in the magazines, for what that's worth.

I think they are very good for the price. I'd lay them against the usual suspects like PSB, paradigm, etc.

I didn't like the integration in my room/set-up between my AC600s and the WS Center. I went phantom and liked it better. You'd think a good match since both speakers have the same x-over of 4kHz. but the tweets are different.

Hopefully you are getting better results in your front soundstage, it sounds like it.

Enjoy the Denon!

Rob Lloyd

Stunt Coordinator