Picking up a Anthem AVM-20

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jason Cald****, Dec 26, 2002.

1. Jason Cald****

Jason Cald**** Stunt Coordinator

I have a seperate thread here also about purchasing it from canada, just had some other questions.

I am brand new to the preamp world, i am going to pick this up based of reviews mostly online, it seems to be a great product.

My SVS sub is also coming soon.

I am going to use it with Polk RT2000's, CS350 Center and the newer version of the ls/fx rears(always forget the model). Is this overkill for this setup? How to the polks rate as speakers? I have had these for awhile now before they ended up in stores like CC and best buy.

I am also going to pick up the MCA(that right?)50 amp.

I wanted to get them from Live Wire this weekend but they only have black in and silver will be about a week wait.

I am going to go over tomorrow to check it out. They could not give me any pricing over the phone, which kind of sucked since i have no idea what its going to cost me. I am hoping under $3600 for both but really am not sure.

How much should i spend on wires to connect the preamp and amp?

Anyother info you think i might need in making the reciever to preamp/pro setup?

Again many thanks for all the helpful people here.

2. wayne p

wayne p Stunt Coordinator

I would suggest you pick up 5 XLR cables to connect the AVM 20 to the MCA 50. You should be able to get a good price on Ultra Link, a Canadian company. All other connections would be the same as a receiver.

3. Jason Cald****

Do BetterCables make a good set?

I was thinking of ordering a few component cables, 2 toslinks, a digital coax, and 5 xlr cables (thats what i need right?)

How are bettercables for the price?

Thanks

4. Jason Cald****

Went to Live Wire today in canada.

There sale price for a Anthem AVM-20 and MCA-50 was $6600 canadain, and around 4300 US. Plus have to pay around 600 in taxes that i will get back.