What's new

Picking the right projector for outdoors -- 16 feet (1 Viewer)

Real Name
John
[COLOR= black]Guys, I am a real newbie at this. I am down to a couple of projectors that I plan on using for a 16 foot screen... outdoors. It will be in a downtown area on a side block -- so not full city lights but there is some. From a previous post, I learned that I need a lot of lumens. I do not really know what "a lot" means... but these are the two I have decided upon (I am going for 1000-1500 in price). One is DLP and one is LCD. In your opinion, which one is better?[/COLOR]

[COLOR= black]Epson PowerLite Home Cinema 8350 Projector [/COLOR]

[COLOR= black]Optoma HD20 Projector [/COLOR]

[COLOR= black]Of course, you might suggest something else -- I really appreciate your input.[/COLOR]

[COLOR= black]My next question is in regards to the suggestion made to me by the company that is selling the screen. I want to make sure I am not missing something. They are selling me the 16 foot and they suggested the Optoma TX615 -- specs below. This one has good lumens but the size below does not reach 16 feet. Surely they know this -- of course I have inquired and am awaiting an answer. But, since I am in a rush, does screen size mean the best screen size but it can go larger? There is not many reviews on this projector -- any opinions on this one?[/COLOR]

Optoma TX615 Projector Specifications

(show metric units)

Product Sheet User's Manual

Street Price (USD) :

$899

MSRP (USD) :

$999

Brightness (Lumens) :

3500 ANSI

Contrast (Full On/Off) :

3000:1

Variable Iris:

No

Audible Noise:

34.0 dB

Eco-Mode:

29.0 dB

Weight:

6.4 lbs

Size (inches) (HxWxD) :

3.8 x 12.8 x 9.2

Std. Lens:

Focus:

Manual

Zoom:

Manual, 1.10:1

Throw Dist (feet) :

8.0 - 18.0

Image Size (inches) :

56.0 - 138.0

Optional Lenses:

No

Digital Zoom:

Digital Keystone:

Vertical

Lens Shift:

No

Warranty:

3 Years

Performance:

H-Sync Range:

15.0 - 91.0kHz

V-Sync Range:

25 - 85Hz