picking a projector

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Monte J, Apr 6, 2004.

1. Monte J

Monte J Auditioning

Hi guys, I am new to this so please bear with me.

I have recently been looking into getting a projector and I think I have it narrowed down to 2. The 2 that I am refering to are the Epson PowerLite Home10 and the InFocus ScreenPlay 4800. These appear to be decent projectors, in my price range and also are carried by my local dealer. The room they will be used in is 22'L*11'W*7'H, with a drop ceiling. There are two windows in the room but both will be blacked out when I install the projector as I am told this will give the best results. I would say that I will be using the projector for primarily VideoGames and about 10% DVD and Satellite TV. I was hoping to paint the wall (11'*7') with a white paint to use as a screen. So am I way off base on my selections or should I just get one and be happy. Also what would be the largest I would be able to blow up the picture before I get noticable distortion, blurrs or screen door effect.

Thanks in advance for your replies

Monte

2. Ralph B

Ralph B Supporting Actor

you should go with what you want. I personally dont think you need to spend alot to get a decent picture, heck I have a 1997 XGA LCD model that I think looks great and gives a very sharp picture. with a decent dvd player I get no artifacts either. but im upgrading and just bought a projector. I bought a business projector which I did not want to do but for an XGA projector around the $1000 area there is not much choice. the Epson looks like a good model. it is 16:9 but a low resolution, good lamp life and accepts all signals. the Infocus 4800 looks to me like the X1 they sell. if it is it has good video processing, great contrast, nice lamp life and accepts all signals. but at 800x600 personally I dont like the low resolution and wouldnt buy anything lower than XGA. still infocus gives a decent picture!