What's new

physical therapy question (1 Viewer)

SteveGon

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Steve Gonzales
I just saw an orthopedic surgeon due to a painful shoulder which has been bothering me for a year or so. The doctor thinks the problem is muscular and recommended physical therapy. I'm curious as to what this therapy consists of. Does it really help? Also, I work in a restaurant and put in quite a few long shifts. This puts a lot of stress on the old shoulder. Maybe it's time I looked for a better job that would cause less wear and tear on myself?
------------------
My top ten movies that need to be on dvd:
1. Akira Kurosawa's Dreams 2. Freaks 3. Men With Guns 4. The Ninth Configuration 5. The Reflecting Skin 6. Santa Sangre 7. Treasure of the Sierra Madre 8. Voyager 9. White Heat 10. Wings of Desire
[Edited last by SteveGon on October 19, 2001 at 09:42 AM]

Julie K

Screenwriter
Physical therapy is great! I dislocated my kneecap and after several months, lost all strength in that leg in addition to having a lot of pain. I did 6 weeks of therapy (knees require a lot - your shoulder should heal up faster) and it helped a lot. My knee is not perfect, but it's a whole lot better.
The therapy can consist of various things: heat, cold, ultrasound, massage, and exercise. The therapist will decide which options to use and will probably give you exercises to do outside the office as well.
Be warned: it's painful. Get a bag of frozen peas (yes, peas) to help. A bag of frozen peas is the best ice-pack there is.
------------------
My DVDs
"Some people think I'm over-prepared, paranoid...maybe even a little crazy. But they never met any pre-Cambrian life forms, did they?"

AdrianJ

Supporting Actor
Uhm, I would write a real response but Julie really hit it right on the head. The main key though, is to continue the exercises after your physical therapy sessions are over.
------------------
photo11.jpg

Adrian Jones

andrew markworthy

Senior HTF Member