Pentium III Slot-1 SECC2 online?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff, Apr 14, 2002.

  1. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can anyone direct me to an online dealer that sells the Pentium III Slot-1 SECC2 1Ghz 100Mhz Bus CPU?
    Also, I have no idea what cooling fan/head sink to get for this. Can someone help me out?
    Thanks!
    Jeff
     
  2. Todd Hochard

    Todd Hochard Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 1999
    Messages:
    2,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  3. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Todd, thanks! Of course, neither ship to Canada.

    I'll keep looking.
     
  4. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Nothing, nothing and more nothing. No one ships up here. I guess it's time for a new motherboard. [​IMG]
     
  5. Jim Badger

    Jim Badger Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Jim! But they are US only too! It's a conspiracy I tell you! [​IMG]
     
  7. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't know if you like second user stuff, but have you considered ebay? There are usually loads of CPUs. These 1GHz 100Mhz slot 1 CPUs are pretty rare - most of them are the socket370 type or running at 133MHz.
    There are a couple of place over here that might ship them to Canada - worth asking. Have a look at this site to find the best prices. The prices are quite expensive so it may be worth your while getting a new motherboard and going for one of the >1GHz P3 CPUs. Might need to switch your RAM to 133MHz (RAMs pretty cheap, and you could sell your old mobo, CPU and RAM on ebay as an attractive upgarde option).
    Good luck!
    Darren
     
  8. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Darren, I have considered Ebay. I'm an Ebay junkie. [​IMG] Problem is, there aren't very many slot 1 1ghz chips there and the ones that are...Well guess what...They don't ship to Canada.
    What I might do is make a plea for some kind person down in the states to get one for me. (I'll pay every expense of course) and in return I'll send them a new DVD of their choice.
    Jeff
     
  9. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    I'll be the first to recommend a new mobo/cpu. For the same money ($170) you can buy an athlon or duron CPU at 1GHz+ and a new motherboard (which would be able to reuse your existing RAM). The P3 is bandwidth starved at 133Mhz, so a 1GHz P3 running on a 100Mhz memory bus will be choking. A Duron 1.3Ghz is $65 or so, leaving $100 for a new motherboard. That combo would blow away a p3 at 1GHz
     
  10. Arthur Legardo

    Arthur Legardo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 1999
    Messages:
    441
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I might be missing something, but how about using a slotket and then getting a socket 370 CPU?
     
  11. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Doh! :b Good idea Arthur.
     
  12. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Socket 370 is FCPGA, correct? If I'm not mistaken the FCPGA CPU's are 133MHz bus only. My mother board (Abit Bx6 Rev 2) will only accept up to a 1GHz 100MHz bus. 133MHz bus will make it unstable.

    Jeff
     
  13. Darren Lewis

    Darren Lewis Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think some of the socket 370 (FC-PGA) run at 100MHz.
     
  14. KyleS

    KyleS Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2000
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jeff,

    You are correct the Socket 370 PCPGA is not necessarily compatible with your system. Have you thought about using a riser card with a socket chip since you cant find a slot chip.

    KyleS
     
  15. Matt DeVillier

    Matt DeVillier Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1999
    Messages:
    773
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  16. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, I just found an Ebay auction of one that actually ships to Canada so I did the ol' Buy It Now. It's a new OEM version which comes with a Golden Orb fan/heatsink. Not sure about this fan but if it doesn't work out, I can always resell it and get another.

    I really prefer this route then having to research mother boards and having to pull everything out of my case. Three years ago I spent a month researching mother boards and it paid off since the now 3 year old one I got can actually handle a P3 1GHz CPU.

    Thanks everyone for all your help! This guy has around 1700 feeback and only 3 negatives and he is just down in Seattle, so I'm sure I should have the cpu soon.

    Jeff
     
  17. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,255
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    Jeff - out of curiosity, what computer type are you upgrading? I've got a Dell Dimension (P3 450) I've considered upgrading with a P3 1000.
     
  18. Jeff

    Jeff Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a generic PC I put together a few years back with an ABIT BX6 REV 2 motherboard.

    What's the fastest CPU your Dell can handle?

    Jeff
     
  19. DaveF

    DaveF Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2001
    Messages:
    18,255
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    One Loudoun, Ashburn, VA
    Real Name:
    David Fischer
    It's got a 100MHz bus, SECC2 socket and according to users on Dell's support forums, it can handle a 1GHz CPU. I don't believe there are any P3 / 100 MHz CPUs faster than 1GHz, and the motherboard can't accept the newer >1GHz Celerons.
     
  20. Samuel Des

    Samuel Des Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2001
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Dave - I have done this upgrade. It takes less than 5 mins. The actual removal and replacing of the CPU takes less than 1 min. I have noticed a difference in speed, particularly when first firing her up. It's a recommended upgrade if you don't want to hassle with removing all your stuff, getting a new mobo, cpu, case, power supply, and cables.
     

Share This Page