What's new

PE 150W plate amp (1 Viewer)

JimHal

Stunt Coordinator
I apologize in advance to those who may recognize this thread. I posted a very similiar question a couple of weeks back.

I have the PE #300-792. I built a sono-sub and flush mounted the amp to the tube.

The problem: I get a humming from the amp that's driving be crazy.

The hum is not from the driver. I had the amp out of the sub (no driver attached) and plugged directly into a wall outlet on the other end of the room. It still makes a humming sound.

When I walk into my basement I can hear the hum and basically whenever there is no sound coming out of the speakers. Even on really quiet scenes on movies or TV.

This sucks, because I've been really happy with the performance of the sub.

Does anyone else notice any noise from thier amps? I did notice a slight hum with my old Energy 8" sub. Is their anything I can do or do I have to get used to it?

Dave Poehlman

Senior HTF Member
I'm no electrician but, it sounds to me like you might have a bad transformer... or something is not grounded properly. I would return it if it's not too late.

Another thing to check, is the input voltage switched properly (115/230)?

Mike_A

Stunt Coordinator
sounds like a ground loop problem. i've heard people using "cheater" plugs from home depot to deal with this, even if it's not the best solution. i think it's basically just a 3 prong to 2 prong plug adapter.

unrelated, but got any pics of your flush mounted amp? i'm curious how people are doing this. if i ever build a sonosub, i'd like a flush mount myself.

JimHal

Stunt Coordinator
Thanks Mike, I sent you an email with a MSpaint drawn picture, hope it helps.

KevinMcL

Agent
Wow- I'd like to see that, too! Do you get a better bass response if you flush mount yourself into the sub? Wouldn't that block the view for others?

j/k

JimHal

Stunt Coordinator
So I tried plugging in the sub with an extension cord that has only 2 prongs. No luck.