PE 150W plate amp

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JimHal, Mar 1, 2002.

  1. JimHal

    JimHal Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I apologize in advance to those who may recognize this thread. I posted a very similiar question a couple of weeks back.

    I have the PE #300-792. I built a sono-sub and flush mounted the amp to the tube.

    The problem: I get a humming from the amp that's driving be crazy.

    The hum is not from the driver. I had the amp out of the sub (no driver attached) and plugged directly into a wall outlet on the other end of the room. It still makes a humming sound.

    When I walk into my basement I can hear the hum and basically whenever there is no sound coming out of the speakers. Even on really quiet scenes on movies or TV.

    This sucks, because I've been really happy with the performance of the sub.

    Does anyone else notice any noise from thier amps? I did notice a slight hum with my old Energy 8" sub. Is their anything I can do or do I have to get used to it?
     
  2. Dave Poehlman

    Dave Poehlman Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2000
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm no electrician but, it sounds to me like you might have a bad transformer... or something is not grounded properly. I would return it if it's not too late.

    Another thing to check, is the input voltage switched properly (115/230)?
     
  3. Mike_A

    Mike_A Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2001
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sounds like a ground loop problem. i've heard people using "cheater" plugs from home depot to deal with this, even if it's not the best solution. i think it's basically just a 3 prong to 2 prong plug adapter.

    unrelated, but got any pics of your flush mounted amp? i'm curious how people are doing this. if i ever build a sonosub, i'd like a flush mount myself.
     
  4. JimHal

    JimHal Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Mike, I sent you an email with a MSpaint drawn picture, hope it helps.
     
  5. KevinMcL

    KevinMcL Agent

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2001
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Wow- I'd like to see that, too! Do you get a better bass response if you flush mount yourself into the sub? Wouldn't that block the view for others?

    j/k
     
  6. JimHal

    JimHal Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I tried plugging in the sub with an extension cord that has only 2 prongs. No luck.

    I guess the hum is just the amp working. Possibly, the amp hum is amplified inside the sub. Looks, like I have to learn to live with it.
     
  7. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,777
    Likes Received:
    492
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
  8. JimHal

    JimHal Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One person mentioned a Transformer Delamination.

    I just got another post and the quy said that his does the same thing. Here is his reply.

    "My 300-794 amp also makes a very soft buzzing sound that can only be heard within a foot or two of the amp, and only when everything else is quiet. When you unplug, it's compeltely quiet.

    I think it's just with the design of the transformer or something, I doubt it's a ground loop."

    Makes me feel a little better.
     
  9. JimHal

    JimHal Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 1999
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Now more problems.

    After trying the 2 prong deal, I get no sound from my sub. I think the amp is not putting out enough power to drive the sub.

    Can using the a 2 prong plug (used extension cord, not adapter) harm the amp?

    Anybody have any ideas as to what could have happened?
     
  10. warrick

    warrick Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hal

    Check a few things like is the extension cord wired correctly ( is active to active etc) you can still get an appliance to run when the Neutral and the Earth wires are crossed.

    If this is the case the cutting off the earth pin will create an open circuit and nothing will run.

    also check to see if the amp itself has been wired correctly

    Have fun

    Warrick
     

Share This Page