PDA as a remote

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by eric nyhof, Apr 30, 2002.

  1. eric nyhof

    eric nyhof Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Most of the new palm pilots and PDAs have IR on them, are their programs that you can get to use then as a remote for a reciever, tv ect... It would be pretty sweet to be able to use it like the universal remotes that have touch screens.
     
  2. JeffTodd

    JeffTodd Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    http://www.pacificneotek.com/
    I have used this with my Visor and it works well. I am still looking to acquire a Pronto to do the job properly.
     
  3. Jagan Seshadri

    Jagan Seshadri Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2001
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    0
    PDA IR LEDs are not that powerful, so you won't have as much range as you would with a normal remote.

    -JNS
     
  4. eric nyhof

    eric nyhof Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see that pacific neotek has a handspring module that enhances the IR and has more versitillity and its 60 bucks. I so see that sony's clie comes with remote software and is good up to about 15 feet.
     
  5. JeffTodd

    JeffTodd Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used my handspring visor with only the IR port and it was good for at least 8 feet. My couch was not further from the gear so I never tried to see how far it would go. But from that point on my couch it would do every button that I had programmed.
     
  6. Paul_Fisher

    Paul_Fisher Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have a Sony Clie and it didn't come with remote software.
     
  7. Nick_Shah

    Nick_Shah Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's the new Sony Clie PEG-T415 that comes with the remote software. Apparently Pacific Neo Tek is planning a similar unit for the other Clie models.

    -Nick
     
  8. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is one of those "great on paper" ideas that just doesn't really work out well in actual practice.

    Can you use many PDA's as IR remotes for your Home Theater, etc.? Yes. Would you really want to do this? Probably not.

    Once the "gee whiz" factor wears off it's really not that practical. For one thing, as others have noted, most PDAs do not have an IR output anywhere near as powerful as the IR output of any of the Pronto models. (In fact the Prontos out-power most regular component remotes which makes it (the Pronto) far more functional in that regard). Yes, you can purchase devices to extend the range of a PDA's IR capabilities, but that just adds another piece to tack on, malfunction, get lost, etc. The whole deal.

    In addition, if you use your dedicated PDA as your HT remote then, unless you live alone and/or are the only person to use your equipment, the PDA either stays in your media room or your PDA doesn't travel with you. It can't do two things at the same time. (Kind of like a 1 monitor household with video games.)

    All things considered, with the prices of basic Pronto and similar units dropping, it is, in my opinion, far more prudent to get one of these units to do the job properly with a minimum of confusion and inconvenience.

    I'm not trying to rain on your parade, just to point out the practicality (or impracticality) of the situation.
     
  9. chung_sotheby

    chung_sotheby Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2002
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a program that does remote capabilities with a Compaq and is pretty customixeable, and it does hav an IR extender, but it is still lacking in refinement. I think that if someone has a PDA and does not want to shell out the extra $200+ for a pronto, then a $20 program and $20 extender might be a cool thing to purchase. If someone is looking to get a dedicated remote, then it is probably not wise to make the PDA his or her first choice. I know that I handle my remote pretty roughly, and a PDA is not something that I would like to toss around alot.
     
  10. kevitra

    kevitra Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    0
    I looked into doing this a year ago, and decided the $240 for a pronto was a better choice.

    Who wants to use a stylus to change the channel? Not me. Plus, as Robert pointed out, if you take it with you to work others can't operate the equipment.

    Fun to play with, but not practicle.
     
  11. eric nyhof

    eric nyhof Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2002
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the input guys. I don't have a PDA right now, but am thinking about getting one this summer for work. I also don't have anough money for a pronto, so wondered if a PDA would be a good choice. Sounds like its not the most practicle way to go.
     
  12. James_T

    James_T Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2000
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently purchased a Pocket PC (HP Jornada 568), and I had planned on using it as a remote. I downloaded the software from this site:
    http://www.pdawin.com/
    that allows you to download CCF files for a ProntoPro into the Pocket PC. It works OK, but as others have stated the range is poor and more importantly very directional. You have to point the PDA directly at the component you are using, making it impracticle for the most part. I have already gone back to using my old Pronto.
    What sort of devices can one purchase to extend the IR range and make it not as directional?
     

Share This Page