PC2100 ram shows as PC1600 on boot up???

James St

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 8, 1999
Messages
959
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I bought a DDR mobo and some Crucial pc2100 memory a few months ago. After swapping everything out I noticed my mobo reads it as pc1600. I checked the memory it is indeed pc2100. After looking in bios I didn't see anything that I could change so it would recognize my memory as pc2100. Asus has just issued new bios revision which I will update tonight or tomorrow. Since there was a deal I ordered a second stick of 256mb pc2100 from Crucial and it will be here tomorrow. Has anyone heard of this problem?
My system specs
Asus A7M266 mobo
Crucial 256mb pc2100 ram, second stick on the way
Athlon T-bird 750Mhz 200fsb
Windows Me
 

Jesse Leonard

Second Unit
Joined
Jun 8, 2000
Messages
430
Reaction score
0
Points
0
On that board, you cannot run the FSB and the memory bus at different speeds. Therefore since you are running your FSB at 100MHz, your ram will also be running at 100 MHz. That is why it is showing up as pc1600.
You will either have to increase your FSB to 133Mhz (ie. 266) or live with running your ram at pc1600.
[Edited last by Jesse Leonard on October 31, 2001 at 11:25 PM]
 

James St

Supporting Actor
Joined
May 8, 1999
Messages
959
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I guess I'll have to upgrade my cpu to to one with a 266 FSB in order to take advantage of pc2100. Thanks, Jesse.
 

AndreTrixy

Auditioning
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
14
Reaction score
0
Points
0
The FSB is Front-Side-Bus, which is based on your motherboard.
 

Forum Sponsors

Forum statistics

Threads
343,735
Messages
4,688,483
Members
141,025
Latest member
Stew1911