What's new

Pc to TV output-looking for a solution (1 Viewer)

Chris Bardon

Senior HTF Member
OK, so as I've posted before, I'm looking to put together some spare parts that I have into a HTPC. Ideally, I'd like to be able to use it as a music server, to play videos on (I have a bunch of stuff I've either downloaded off the internet or digitally recorded myself) and play MAME games. The only thing I'm not all that sure about though is the TV output.

I've had some experience with TV output boards from ATI, and I know that they were pretty bad (I'm thinking original All-in-wonder vintage here). I'm assuming they've gotten better(I've seen laptops with onboard Svideo outputs that look pretty damn good) but price is a concern here. I've also seen standalone boxes that convert VGA to RGB/Svideo online for about $150. I guess what I'm asking is:

-What are people using to connect their HTPCs to their TVs, and what would you recommend for the types of applications I'm looking at?
-How far back can I go technologically and still keep the same TV output. For example, I can get an All-in-wonder 7000 pretty cheap now-would using a newer card make a huge difference if all I'm interested in is the TV out? What about other video cards?

Joe Hsu

Supporting Actor
I would suggest the newish Radeon 8500, as you can find them with DVI output (not that that concerns you, but that model is more expensive) for $100 right now.
ATi's visual output is still much better than the latest GF4's with TV/DVI-out, but their number/polygon crunching still isn't up to par.
The 9700, however, is a whole different story. :)

Dave_Olds

Stunt Coordinator
The 8500 has a notorious gamma & driver problem....Word is its nearly resolved...But probably not worth the hassle with the 7500 being the same chip plus DVI output and substantially cheaper....

Matt DeVillier

Supporting Actor
Dave,