1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

PC multimedia connectivity

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by BorisH, May 7, 2006.

  1. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I will build a new PC soon I am looking for suitable solution for good multimedia connectivity.
    My TV is wide-screen CRT (not HD) and supports RGB (through SCART), S-Video and composite inputs.
    I need gfx card capable of good quality 16:9 RGB output in the ideal case. If this feature is not available on mainstream GFX card, then maybe a separate PCI
    extension card like tuner of whatever is a good solution? Or something like multimedia box, that has network connection with the PC?
    Opinions? Experience? Other options?
     
  2. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Most modern graphics cards can do pretty much any output resolution and refresh you want manually.
     
  3. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    What about quality? Which TV out chip should I look for? Should I choose ATI or NVIDIA card? What about RGB support? Are you sure that they all support 16:9 natively without squeezing the picture?
     
  4. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Both have some excellent cards out right now, I believe ATI released some new cards that are excellent with video/film stuff, Nvidia had been the go-to card for a while.

    Yes they should all support pretty much any resolution you want. Desktop may be distorted, but video should be fine if you use a proper player.

    I use an HTPC as my main source using an Nvidia card in 16:9 output (1440x720p72hz) driving a CRT in 16:9.

    You'll want to get a video card with a VGA output if you need analog RGB. A lot now have both VGA and DVI output, some only have DVI. You'll want to check the outputs to make sure you're getting what you need.
     
  5. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Do you connect your card to the TV with RGB?
     
  6. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes, I use a CRT Front Projector that takes RGBhv input(same as VGA).
     
  7. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    But all VGA output cards I have seen have only composite video out. How can I make RGB out of it? I remember seeing an article how to solder some elements on NVIDIA card to make is support RGB. Is that the only way?
     
  8. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What? Pretty much every video card on the planet has VGA output, except as mentioned some of the newest who have DVI output (often in addition to VGA output). It is actually extremely rare to have component video output, I am not aware of many or any regular video cards with component video output. They are all VGA out.
     
  9. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I believe I used the word composite, not component. I mean the cards have a single video out called composite video. This is not compatible with RGB in any way.
     
  10. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm sorry, you're correct I misread that. REgardless you wouldn't want to use composite output (or s-video which many cards have). Again, I don't understand why you're even concerned about that, video cards have VGA output. That's RGB, so why are the other outputs even a concern? You have your RGB, so use it.
     
  11. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Oh, sorry, now I understand what you mean by VGA. The analog output to the PC monitor right?

    This is RGB, but what cable do I need? Maybe some converter between VGA and SCART? And how long the cable can be? Because now I use S-Video cable 15 meter long.
     
  12. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm not familair with SCART connectors, but I would assume there are adaptors for that. There are certainly break-out cables for VGA that go to 5xBNC for more common professional display connectors that use BNC. That's what I do in my system a short VGA->5xBNC breakout cable, then a full run of BNC coax to the RGBhv input on my display.
     
  13. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Look what I found. http://www.grandtec.com/prod01.htm
    Do you use some of those? Or maybe you projector supports direct VGA connection? I think TV-s does not support this and I'll need one of those converters.
     
  14. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
  15. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Ok, so you must be adjusting your video card display resolution manually with software like powerstrip right? I think there is a danger of damaging your TV if you don't know what you are doing very well. Like me [​IMG]
     
  16. ChrisWiggles

    ChrisWiggles Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    4,791
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Powerstrip isn't really necessary anymore, most of the newer drivers allow you to select resolutions and everything manually (just like what powerstrip allowed you to do). Yes, presumably you could damae your display I suppose, my display is a multiscan professional CRT display, so not a risk for me.
     
  17. BorisH

    BorisH Auditioning

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you very much for your time! I will make some tests when I buy new gfx card.
     

Share This Page