PC Anywhere and Router Question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by DeathStar1, Apr 27, 2006.

  1. DeathStar1

    DeathStar1 Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2001
    Messages:
    3,267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    We have Verizon FIOS coming in from our wired router and routed to two different machines. I'm obviously having trouble connecting to them now with PC anywhere from work...

    Anyone know what I should do next?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Dan Mercier

    Dan Mercier Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 1999
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure if portforward covers pc anywhere or your router brand but its got tons of info on helping you out.

    www.portforward.com
     
  3. SethH

    SethH Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    2,867
    Likes Received:
    0
    I use logmein.com and have never had any problems with accessing my computer from other locations. I use a belkin router and have two computers in my home network.
     
  4. Kimmo Jaskari

    Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    The easiest way is to set up the remote control program to listen to two different custom ports on your internal machines. Then you just set up a port forward to those ports and ip numbers on your router/firewall.

    This assuming that you can specify what port to connect to in the PC Anywhere client, I haven't used it in so long that I can't recall.
     
  5. Greg.K

    Greg.K Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1998
    Messages:
    1,408
    Likes Received:
    206
    Location:
    NY
    Real Name:
    Greg K.
    You can tell PC Anywhere to use different ports from the defaults (5631 & 5632 for version 7.52 and newer), but it involves changing values in the registry. Kind of a pain if you need to use the same client to connect to hosts on the default ports as well.

    Good info:

    http://www.nthelp.com/NT6/pcanywhere_ip_port_usage.htm
     
  6. Kimmo Jaskari

    Kimmo Jaskari Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2000
    Messages:
    1,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Actually, I don't know why I wrote that you should change the ports on the machines you want to connect to. It's rather irrelevant what ports they use, as you set up rules to forward ports to specific IP addresses in the router anyway.

    Anyway, bottom line is that you only have one incoming IP address, and the router "owns" that one. If you want to connect to the same service on separate machines, you have to assign each machine a separate port number on that router. There is no reason however that the ports visible outside should be the same as the ones on the inside.

    For example, one can have a web server on a machine inside the router and have that run on a non-standard port, say 8080, and then set up the router to listen on port 80 and forward those connections to the server on port 8080; the person connecting from the outside will think it's port 80 all the way. Something similar has to be done here in order to make it possible to connect to the PC Anywhere service on the computers.

    Of course, if connecting to just one machine is enough (and from there possibly connect to the other machine over the internal network) it becomes just a normal port forward of the standard port, which is easy.
     

Share This Page