Parasound HCA-1000A Current Overload?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Edwin_H, Jun 2, 2003.

1. Edwin_H

Edwin_H Stunt Coordinator

I'm currently using a Parasound HCA-1000A hooked into my Denon 2802 to power my front speakers(Rocket 750s). I only just now noticed while watching a DVD at high levels that the current overload lights were lighting up. I don't know if this has been happening before as I usually don't look over at the amp while I'm watching movies. My speakers have a nominal impedence of 6 ohms. The parasound manual only mentions 8ohms and 4ohms. Is this a problem? How bad is current overload? What can I do? I'm not exactly a newbie, but I'm far from an expert here. Please help me out.

-Edwin

2. RickMo

RickMo Stunt Coordinator

Edwin. I'm not familiar with the Parasound but is the output speaker impedance switchable? Can you select 8 ohm vs. 4 ohms? If so, what is it currently set at? If it's at 8 ohms, then I'd try changing it to 4 ohms.

3. Edwin_H

anyone else with any ideas or help??? could really use some!

-e

4. BruceD

BruceD Screenwriter

Edwin,

The specs on the 1000A are;

1)Continuous Power Output - Stereo: 200 watts RMS x 2, 20 Hz - 20 kHz, 4 ohms, both channels driven

2) Current Capacity: 45 amperes peak per channel

------------------------------

I can tell you that my Dynaudio speakers with a nominal impedance of 4 Ohms (and sometimes less) won't make my Parasound 1205A amp light-up the overload lights even when driven at reference level (105dB). The specs for watts and amps are the same between the two amps.

Therefore I would assume you need to check for any speaker wires that are frayed and possibly periodically shorting the connection, or maybe something is wrong with the amp or the speakers.

5. Edwin_H