What's new

Paradigm v.s. Boston Acoustics... (1 Viewer)

MWestyn

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Sean
Newbie here...

I'm looking at a set up of Boston Acoustics VR-M50 mains, VR-MC center, and VR-MX surrounds. Sub is yet to be determined but I've heard good things about the HSU and SVS models.

I've auditioned Monitor, Polk, Klipsch, Definitive Technology, and Boston Acoustics.

Thus far the BA's have been my favorite. I see alot about Paradigm on the forum and wonder how their systems would compare...I haven't found a local retailer to listen to them for myself.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks.

AlanZ

Screenwriter
Real Name
AJ
Hi Sean:
Just thought I'd offer my $.02 on Paradigm. The reason why a lot of people choose this brand of speakers is due to the 'lots of bang for the buck' phenomenon. Paradigm offers three main categories of speakers: The Performance, Monitor, and Reference lines. Depending on your budget, room size, and preferences, I'm sure that you'll find a match somewhere among these three lines. For overall value, here are my suggestions for each line: In the performance series, I feel the Atoms are the most impressive (taking into consideration the list price, of course). In the monitor line you really can't go wrong. The monitor 3's are less impressive than the rest of the line, but this series is really strong. My personal recommendations are the 5's and the mini-monitors. As for the reference line, the studio 60's are a really nice speaker.
Anyway, I don't know if that helps.....I just couldn't resist the opportunity to talk about one of my favorite companies. There are thousands of very satisfied and loyal Paradigm consumers, and they have good reason for being that way :) Good luck!

Iver

Second Unit
FWIW, Boston Acoustics has been in business for at least the past 20 years and they have done very well. Then again, Bose (possibly the least popular speaker company at HTF) has also been doing well.