Paradigm Titans

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by JorelB, Dec 9, 2002.

1. JorelB

JorelB Extra

I just bought some Paradigm Titans for rears and am real happy with them! [​IMG] Right now I got them on identical metal bookshelfs placed about 6 inches behind the listening position but only 1 foot high. While reading about proper speaker placement it says it should be around 2-3 feet above listening position, will I hear a big difference if i make it 2 and a half feet above? Second, I worry about the bookshelf being metal I'm no sound expert (pretty much the opposite) but will metal reflect sound more or make it worst? It's sitting on top so theres nothing around it except the wall which is about an inch away.
    Bye!

2. elMalloc

elMalloc Supporting Actor

SUPERB choice in equiment. Paradigm rules. Good luck with the questions.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John
    As long as the stands are sturdy, they should be just fine. If they are not in front of or right along side the front bezel of the speaker, reflections should not be an issue. I would recommend pulling them away from the walls, both sides and rear. I would recommend at least 8" behind the Titans for the rear ports.

Regarding placement - it is not necessary to have the speakers placed 2-3' above the listener, that is a recommendation. I have Titans as surrounds, about 4' behind me, on 30" stands, to either side, pointed towards eachother and it sounds great. I had to play with positioning a LOT before settling on this arrangement (I also have the advantage of having a rather deep room).

4. BrianWoerndle

BrianWoerndle Supporting Actor

The 2 - 3 feet applies mostly to the tweeter, which is at the top of the speaker, so you should be fine.

I agree that the speaker need to be pulled away from the wall a bit. The rear port will give the speaker a boomy sound if it is too close to the wall.

5. JorelB

JorelB Extra