Paradigm Monitor or Studio ??? Front & CC

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kevin*Harley, Jan 28, 2003.

1. Kevin*Harley

Kevin*Harley Stunt Coordinator

Decided to come out of the audio dark ages but find myself overwhelmed with # of products available. I was able to get the Denon 3803 at cost; unfortunately I have no contacts for speakers. I am not an audiophile but I do appreciate higher quality sound (within reason). Most importantly I don’t want to outgrow my speakers in the next couple years. Primary use will be 60% HT / 40% Music.
    I budgeted @ $1000 for front and center speakers and was impressed with Paradigm Monitor 5 and CC-370. My old Infinity satellites will be my surrounds for the next few months until my wife warms up to a Sub and larger speakers to hang on the wall.
    I have not heard the Studio line and curious for feedback on the Studio 20’s and Studio CC. Will I be disappointed that I didn’t spend the extra $.

I am new to your world and very open to your advice, input or alternative set-ups in that price range.

Thanks in advance.

2. Adarsh Daswani

For anything more than 20% stereo audio listening, I would recommend the Studio line. I do about 60% music/40% HT and went for the Studio/60's with Studio/20's in the rear. For me, there was a world of difference in the quality of the midrange between the Studio line and the Monitor line.

I'm no audiophile, but I'd consider myself an audio enthusiast.

Since you're also open to other options, I'd consider the Studio/40's up front instead of the 20's. I do think for main speakers, it's money well-spent.

-A.

3. John Garcia

John Garcia Executive Producer

John