What's new

Panny RP91 on the way. How to connect to receiver? (1 Viewer)

Shawn Shultzaberger

Supporting Actor
My Panasonic RP91 is on it's way and I can't wait. My old Panny A100 has served me well. I have the Outlaw 1050 and I am new to the whole DVD-Audio / Direct 5.1 scene.
When using the RP91 for movies do I select Direct 5.1 on my receiver or just let it select automatically like it does now? Also, when playing DVD-Audio will I select "direct" or will it automatically select for me?
Hmmm...That last paragraph didn't make sense.
How about: "When using DVD-A should I use the Direct 5.1 Audio out on the back of the RP91 or just use optical/coax? Is there a difference? My Outlaw 1050 can do both optical/coax and 5.1 Channel Direct Audio Input."
My thoughts are that I would use Direct 5.1 for DVD-A and optical/coax for the movies but I'm just not sure. I hate not knowing and "knowing is half the battle"! GI JOE! :D

Dmitry

Supporting Actor
Shawn,

the DVD-A is decoded by the DVD player and you should use the 5.1 out on the player to 5.1 in on the receiver. For the regular PCM/DD/DTS (CDs, movie DVDs) you can use the digital (optical, coax) connection between the player and the receiver but you can also utilize the same 5.1 connection as this DVD player has DD/DTS decoder built in.

To reiterate, the difference between the digital/5.1 connection is just where the decoding takes place. Since DVD-A decoding has to be done by the player and can't be passed on the digital connection, 5.1 is a must for DVD-A. For movies it's up to you -- if you like the Outlaw's decoding better, use digital connection as well.

Hope this helps.

Shawn Shultzaberger

Supporting Actor
Dmitry,
Yup. That answers it all. :) Now I can't wait to listen to my first DVD-A disk. I'm not sure what to expect.
I feel like a kid in Toys-R-Us. :D

Scott-C

Supporting Actor
Jim,