Panasonic SA-HE100

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ozzie, Oct 30, 2002.

1. Ozzie

Ozzie Agent

Let me start by saying that I am new to HT. Any help is appreciated.
    The most recent Consumer Report has the Panasonic SA-HE100 as the best receiver tested. It is also rated as a Consumer Report "Best Buy."
    I am in the market for my first receiver and this Panny seems to be a clear choice. I would be using the receiver mainly for music but I want great sound for movies as well. The receiver would be used for the following:
    JBL SCS115 (system which brings surround SAT 10 (80w) and a BASS 15 (100w) sub)
    I will substitute the front SAT 10's for JBL N 28's (front)
    Thanks for the help!
    [​IMG]

2. JakubH

JakubH Stunt Coordinator

FWIW, this receiver also got a high score from Sound&Vision magazine when they reviewed it. The numbers they got in testing were:
    78wx5, 70wx6
    0.04%/0.05% 4 ohms THD
    -75.0 dB Noise
    Quite nice considering the price range and how the competition tested. See
    http://www.geocities.com/Area51/Holl...1/ratevsac.htm
    for other test results for other recievers. Certainly at the price this unit is IMO very hard to beat. You might also consider the Pioneer 811s, which is similar but with a somewhat weaker amp section and pre-outs for every channel. Depends on whether you want to upgrade later or buy and forget IMO.

3. Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

I would suggest the Pioneer 811S over the Panasonic HE100 for a few reasons. The first is build quality. The HE100 has a very low build quality. It feels very cheap and plastic to me. Also, spring clips instead of binding posts for speaker connections is a big no no in my book. The second reason is that the HE100 doesn't have support for 7.1 speaker setups. The 811S offers 2 sets of binding posts for the back surround channel where the HE100 only offers one.