Panasonic rp-82 problem..

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by RonR, Nov 24, 2005.

  1. RonR

    RonR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've had this thing for a few years now and never a lick of trouble. Since yesterday it has been in 2 channel downmix. The problem is I lost the remote when I moved 2 years ago. I have looked everywhere for the remote and now maybe it will come to haunt me [​IMG] I can navigate some simple menus with my universal remote but nothing to where I can switch it out of the downmix.....any ideas?
     
  2. matt-f

    matt-f Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The downmix is in the setup menu of the DVD player. Flip through the tabs and you'll find it.
     
  3. RonR

    RonR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah I just can't get to that menu without the remote. I am going to try and find a used Pany and see if the remote will work on this player by chance...
     
  4. greg_t

    greg_t Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2001
    Messages:
    1,650
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    You can probably get a new remote from Panasonic parts as well. I do know that the Panny RP91 remote will work with the 82 as well, so does the XP30/XP50 remote. They are the same remote only the XP30/50 one is silver and the RP82 is black. The 91's is a different (and better) remote but works for the 82.
     
  5. matt-f

    matt-f Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    267
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Oh I see. My assumption was that the universal remote was a learning remote so the setup option would of been accessable.

    If you have a friend that has a Panny unit, you could borrow theirs just for this purpose and give it back.
     
  6. RonR

    RonR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2000
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Good ideas, thanks!
     
  7. PaulT

    PaulT Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    932
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  8. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you cannot get to the setup menu, you might try to enter it with no disk in the player. Often times, the setup manu is only accessible with no disk in the player.

    Also, to prevent having to buy a OEM remote, purchase a cheap One-For-ALL remote and then consult this page:
    One-For-All/RS remote site

    Pay particular attention to the "Advanced Codes" section. This tells you how to assign a remote command that is not generally available on a universal remote to any button on a OFA (or RS) remote. I'm sure there is a "Setup" code for your Panny there someplace. The OFA/RS remotes are pretty powerful for the price; I used one for all my theater needs for years until I recently bought a Harmony. You cannot beat them for the price.
     
  9. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    You might also look into the Logitech Harmony remotes (mentioned above) which you can download and program codes for your gear from the web. A little more expensive, but also a very good universal.
     

Share This Page