What's new

Over-the-Air TV Catches Second Wind. Are you using an antenna? (1 Viewer)

K

Kevin Collins

I have been using an antenna to get HD content since 1997. I've used an antenna for a variety of reasons, being blocked from local stations on satellite, to not receiving certain local stations on any format other than OTA.

We reported on this at CEDIA 2011 by covering Richard Schneider from Antennas Direct.

A recent report in The Wall Street Journal states that many are moving to OTA because they are getting content online, via streaming services like Hulu and Netflix. Richard states that Antennas Direct sold 70,000 antennas in January and he expects to sell twice as many antennas this year as last year, which would amount to 1.2M. Walmart, Best Buy and Costco are now carrying some model of antenna from Antennas Direct. The article states that consumers save around $96 a month by "cutting the cord".

For those that are in areas that are challenged to get a signal a new company called Aereo is now selling an online service that will stream all local channels for $12 month.

Steve Tannehill

R.I.P - 4.28.2015
Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Real Name
Steve Tannehill
I have two HDTV's but only one has a cable box. The other uses an OTA antenna. The cable box is a DVR, and I use it for cable and network programming. The OTA antenna was just fine when I watched the Superbowl, and will be just fine when I watch the Oscars. I have an Apple TV on this set, so I can pick up streaming programming, too.
I should take the time to route the OTA antenna to the TV with the cable box, for one more viewing option.

AndyMcKinney

Senior HTF Member
I've always used an outdoor antenna (with booster), despite whether I had anything else or not. I currently use the antenna for all my locals, and have Dish Network for "cable" channels and East/West out-of-town affiliates (via All American Direct).