OTA v. satellite picture quality

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Daniel_BR, Mar 6, 2003.

1. Daniel_BR

Daniel_BR Extra

Hello all!

I have been visiting this site for a few months now since I first started looking into getting a bigscreen TV (which I did a month ago).

I tried doing some searching here on my question, but couldn't find anything on point. Hopefully this is the right place to post this.

I was wondering how the picture quality of OTA stations compares to that of the satellite services (Dish & DirecTV). I've read that the satellite signals are compressed and was unsure if that was the case with OTA signals as well. I'm in Cincinnati if that matters -- we get digital broadcasting and the OTA digital picture looks pretty good to me. When my wife & I went to the store to look at TV's they were showing satellite programming (Dish I think) and it looked very fuzzy. (But I may have been too close or just not used to it.) Is there a general consensus that OTA/satellite are similar or greatly disparate?

Thanks in advance! [​IMG]
    Dan

2. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

OTA EDTV/HDTV digital content looks very good (especially HDTV). The EDTV is probably as good as SAT or very close.

Now OTA analog content is a different animal, and its quality is more variable, and I'd be surprised if OTA analog looked better than SAT.

3. StephenL

StephenL Second Unit

Washington, DC local over-the-air analog broadcasts via roof-mounted antenna are much better than local broadcasts via DirecTV. The local DirecTV picture quality is terrible. The only reason I pay for it is the convenience of the DirecTV receiver with Tivo. I'm looking forward to a digital recorder for local OTA DTV.

4. Jeff Kohn

Jeff Kohn Supporting Actor