Optical to Digital Coax

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Dom P., Nov 22, 2004.

  1. Dom P.

    Dom P. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just wondering if there is a cable out there that would allow you to connect a componet with a optical out to a receiver that only has a digital coax input??

    thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. Cees Alons

    Cees Alons Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 1997
    Messages:
    19,410
    Likes Received:
    312
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Real Name:
    Cees Alons
    Dom,

    Not a cable, no.
    It would have to interpret light-fluctuations and translate them into electrical current. That's something that can only be done by an active component (a black box requiring a power connection).


    Cees
     
  3. Dom P.

    Dom P. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OK. thanks.

    I'm trying to find one for a buddy to help him avoid having to buy a new receiver.

    His HD Cable box doesn't have the coax out (only optical) and his receiver doesn't have an opictal in (only coax)
     
  4. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0


    Have him call his cable company and see if they can replace the box with one that has coax out. Often the cable company carries both kinds or the box has popouts on the back for installation of optical/coax.
     
  5. Philip Hamm

    Philip Hamm Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 1999
    Messages:
    6,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
  6. Dom P.

    Dom P. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    THat's perfect... I assume he needs both the cables as well (1 dig. coax + 1 optical) in addition to this box??

    Thanks [​IMG]
     
  7. Bob McElfresh

    Bob McElfresh Producer

    Joined:
    May 22, 1999
    Messages:
    5,182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Radio Shack also carries a converter for about $30. And yes, he will need 1 optical cable and 1 video cable to do the conversion.
     
  8. Dom P.

    Dom P. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Great.. I'm pretty sure I have extra cables laying around he can use.

    I'll check out Radio sh. as well.
     
  9. Tim K

    Tim K Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 1999
    Messages:
    402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    What cable box does he have that ONLY has Optical and not Coax? If you are in Chicago I assume you have Comcast Cable....which would imply that it is the Motorola 5100, 6200 or 6208 all of which have Digital Coax. It should be labelled SPDIF though and I believe it is colored orange.
     
  10. Dom P.

    Dom P. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's comcast.. I don't know the model number.

    I'll see if I can find that out.
     
  11. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0


    In my experience, Comcast usually sends the box out with coax, not optical. Granted, I'm with Comcast in the Boston area and Chicago may be different. I'm doing a hookup for my brother-in-law later today and I have to switch his DVD to optical to make room for the coax from his Comcast HD box, because he only has one coax in on his Onkyo receiver. Tim is correct, the coax is labeled SPDIF and is colored orange on the Motorola boxes.
     

Share This Page