What's new

Optical to Digital Coax (1 Viewer)

Dom P.

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
161
Just wondering if there is a cable out there that would allow you to connect a componet with a optical out to a receiver that only has a digital coax input??

thanks :)
 

Cees Alons

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Jul 31, 1997
Messages
19,789
Real Name
Cees Alons
Dom,

Not a cable, no.
It would have to interpret light-fluctuations and translate them into electrical current. That's something that can only be done by an active component (a black box requiring a power connection).


Cees
 

Dom P.

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
161
OK. thanks.

I'm trying to find one for a buddy to help him avoid having to buy a new receiver.

His HD Cable box doesn't have the coax out (only optical) and his receiver doesn't have an opictal in (only coax)
 

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2002
Messages
6,531


Have him call his cable company and see if they can replace the box with one that has coax out. Often the cable company carries both kinds or the box has popouts on the back for installation of optical/coax.
 

Dom P.

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
161
THat's perfect... I assume he needs both the cables as well (1 dig. coax + 1 optical) in addition to this box??

Thanks :emoji_thumbsup:
 

Bob McElfresh

Senior HTF Member
Joined
May 22, 1999
Messages
5,182
Radio Shack also carries a converter for about $30. And yes, he will need 1 optical cable and 1 video cable to do the conversion.
 

Dom P.

Stunt Coordinator
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
161
Great.. I'm pretty sure I have extra cables laying around he can use.

I'll check out Radio sh. as well.
 

Tim K

Second Unit
Joined
Jul 7, 1999
Messages
402
What cable box does he have that ONLY has Optical and not Coax? If you are in Chicago I assume you have Comcast Cable....which would imply that it is the Motorola 5100, 6200 or 6208 all of which have Digital Coax. It should be labelled SPDIF though and I believe it is colored orange.
 

Jeff Gatie

Senior HTF Member
Joined
Aug 19, 2002
Messages
6,531


In my experience, Comcast usually sends the box out with coax, not optical. Granted, I'm with Comcast in the Boston area and Chicago may be different. I'm doing a hookup for my brother-in-law later today and I have to switch his DVD to optical to make room for the coax from his Comcast HD box, because he only has one coax in on his Onkyo receiver. Tim is correct, the coax is labeled SPDIF and is colored orange on the Motorola boxes.
 

Users who are viewing this thread

Sign up for our newsletter

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more







You will only receive emails from us. We will never sell or distribute your email address to third party companies at any time.

Latest Articles

Forum statistics

Threads
356,944
Messages
5,126,732
Members
144,213
Latest member
trishy!
Recent bookmarks
0
Top