Optical cable options from a DVR

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Eric_Whit, Jun 27, 2006.

1. Eric_Whit

Eric_Whit Auditioning

Hello,

Newbie here...I have a Yamaha 5750 receiver and I recently got a dvr from Time Warner the 8300, not the HD. I am not sure that I am getting the full potential from the digital cable.

On the back of the 8300, there are 4 audio outputs, two left, two right (RCA jacks). Right now, I have rca cables coming out of 2 of them directly to my recvr, a left and a right. There is also a 5th RCA audio output on the DVR, by itself, that says "DIGITAL AUDIO".

Where would this single output plug into my recvr??? and is this the true digital surround sound output? On my recvr, the only other option I see is a optical input and the output from the dvr is not optical.

My recvr lights up the Dolby ProLogic not the ProLogicII or the PLx and only the front left and right speakers light up on the recvr which makes me believe I am just getting a left and right sound only.

Any ideas? THANK YOU

2. Charlie Campisi

Charlie Campisi Screenwriter

You are right that the red/white only transmit stereo. There are many HD shows that broadcast in dolby 5.1, and even some non-HD shows (directv broadcasts some premium movies as well as shows like Entourage in 5.1, even on their non-hd channels). To get this sound you need a digital connection between your AVR and cable box. The two ways to do it are optical audio and digital coax. If you are certain that neither your AVR nor cable box has a matching connection, probably the easiest thing to do would be to call the cable co and see if they have another box with an optical audio out. I'm not aware of any kind of adapter that might convert digital coax to an optical signal, but it might be out there.