Oprah not in HD? Why Not?

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Richard Travale, Sep 26, 2005.

  1. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale
    So, Oprah starts her 20th season. She has a brand new studio that she seemed quite proud of...yet no HD.
    Doesn't it seem odd that Harpo would spend so much money on the new studio and not go the HD route?

    So, does anyone know why she opted against going HD? It seems to me that if Oprah were to go HD that would facilitate a massive boost in HDTV sales.
    Same with other shows like Dr. Phil or The View. If these three shows went HD, there would be a huge relatively new market for HD sets and tuners (I think there is only one "Daytime Drama" in HD right now).
     
  2. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    While I know "The Young and the Restless" is in HD, buying a book on her recommended list is one thing, but buying an expensive HDTV set is another.

    Plus, HD is unforgiving when it comes to revealing facial age and imperfections... Do we really need to see Star Jones in HD?
     
  3. TravisR

    TravisR Studio Mogul

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    28,538
    Likes Received:
    5,193
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Location:
    The basement of the FBI building
    I don't know if the average Oprah viewer would care if the show was HD or not. By the same token, I'm not sure how many more people care if Conan is in HD and it is. [​IMG]
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,749
    Likes Received:
    480
    Trophy Points:
    9,110
    Probably the syndication issue is why it's not in HD. Oprah doesn't come on at the same time everywhere within a timezone.
     
  5. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I read on another forum that they have the equipment to tape the show in HD, the issue as Patrick mentions is distribution. It is on different times in different markets.
     
  6. Rudi

    Rudi Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think the horror of seeing Oprah in HD would melt the brains of most of the viewers thereby lowering the ratings.[​IMG]
     
  7. MikeM

    MikeM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 1999
    Messages:
    1,203
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think that joke is wayyyyyy old.
    I don't like her show at all, but for 51 Oprah looks pretty good.
     
  8. Ravi K

    Ravi K Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2003
    Messages:
    707
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there any syndicated HD programming airing on major network affiliates?
     
  9. Richard Travale

    Richard Travale Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    3,425
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Island, Canada
    Real Name:
    Rich Travale


    Wasn't Enterprise syndicated?
     
  10. Scott_J

    Scott_J Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,631
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Enterprise originally aired on UPN. It is just now beginning its off-network run in syndication, but it was a network prime-time show (or as close as you can get on UPN [​IMG]).
     

Share This Page