What's new

Opionions needed (1 Viewer)

Cyrus_I

Stunt Coordinator
Hi there,
I'm a university student and buying my first audio home theatre for music, gamecube, pc, and movies. My price range is about $1500 CDN.
The receivers I'm looking at are:
Denon AVR 1602
Yamaha RXV 530
Onkyo 494
Mararntz SR 4200
The speakers that I'm using are mediocre 5.1 Pro-Linear and I'm also looking to get the new Panasonic DVDCV52 to go along with it.
I'm also wondering whether I should be looking at the Denon AVR 1802 or the Yamaha RXV730 or would I just be wasting the extra money.
I'm not too familiar with a few of these brand names and models. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Cyrus:)

Stephen Hopkins

HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
You might want to look at the Pioneer VSX-D811S. It has DPLII, NEO6, DD-EX, DTS-ES, 100x6 w/ 7.1 speaker setup ability, component video switching, and is a very solid receiver. Can be found as low as $300 US shipped. This is what i have and I love it.

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
I would second Stephen's opinion that you look at the Pioneer VSX-D811S. I have lately been seeing some very favorable reviews of it. It seems to be the hot receiver at the HTF at the moment.
Also, I am not sure but the models you listed seem kind of dated. I would buy something newer at your price range to get more processing like DPLII and the other's mentioned above. Here is a semi-list of some newer models that would be worth looking at, in no particular order: Onkyo TX-SR600, Yamaha HTR-5560, Kenwood VR-6060, Harmon Kardon AVR225, Denon AVR-1802, Marantz SR-5200 or the Sony ES STR-DA1ES. I am not sure if the 1500 CDN is for everything you need or just the receiver so I gave you a starting point. If you like one of these receivers, look at the next step up and decide if those features are important to you. Or better yet, ask us :D .