Opionions needed

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Cyrus_I, Aug 21, 2002.

1. Cyrus_I

Cyrus_I Stunt Coordinator

Hi there,
    I'm a university student and buying my first audio home theatre for music, gamecube, pc, and movies. My price range is about $1500 CDN.
    The receivers I'm looking at are:
    Denon AVR 1602
    Yamaha RXV 530
    Onkyo 494
    Mararntz SR 4200
    The speakers that I'm using are mediocre 5.1 Pro-Linear and I'm also looking to get the new Panasonic DVDCV52 to go along with it.
    I'm also wondering whether I should be looking at the Denon AVR 1802 or the Yamaha RXV730 or would I just be wasting the extra money.
    I'm not too familiar with a few of these brand names and models. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Cyrus[​IMG]

2. Stephen Hopkins

Stephen Hopkins HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

You might want to look at the Pioneer VSX-D811S. It has DPLII, NEO6, DD-EX, DTS-ES, 100x6 w/ 7.1 speaker setup ability, component video switching, and is a very solid receiver. Can be found as low as $300 US shipped. This is what i have and I love it.

3. Jed M

Jed M Cinematographer

I would second Stephen's opinion that you look at the Pioneer VSX-D811S. I have lately been seeing some very favorable reviews of it. It seems to be the hot receiver at the HTF at the moment.