Opinons on my first set up?

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Brandon>C, Aug 9, 2004.

1. Brandon>C

Brandon>C Agent

He all this is my first post, but I’ve been browsing the board for a few weeks now. Let me say the board has been a great help in setting up my new tv, it came out of the box with the contrast set so high it was blinding. I’m kinda new to the whole home theater thing but it seems to me that RCA has a bad name around here. I would just like to say that I currently own 2 RCA products and for the price I am very satisfied with them. I know they are not the best I could have got, but Price Vrs. Performance seemed good to me. This setup in no way is meant to be a high end system its just a starter system that I want to play with for a bit before I jump head first into this hobby. Being that this is my 1st step into the world of home theater I would like your opinions on what I own.

Tv: rca.com/product/viewdetail/0,2588,PI700207-CI700322,00.html

Dvd Player: rca.com/product/viewdetail/0,2588,PI700681-CI302,00.html

The dvd player is hooked up with the component outs. The picture seems pretty good, should it look like Hdtv, or just a bit better then my Sat?

Sorry for the long post, and thanks in advance for any help or opinions you can give me.

Brandon

2. Mark Murphy

Mark Murphy Supporting Actor

If you are happy w/your set up, thats all that matters. We all have to start somewhere. Component connections are good, but it won't look nearly as good as HD simply because its 480i vs. 1080i (or 720p). Even a progressive signal (480p) to an HD ready TV won't match HD.

3. John S

John S Producer

The DVD player model can go a long way to improving your DVD picture. But as said, only so far for sure.