What's new

Opinions Wanted (Newbie, long) (1 Viewer)

Innova

Auditioning
I'm a newbie to the Home Theater, but am getting excited about it. I have put together a list of stuff that I'd like to buy and am looking for opinions. Also, what little things will I need (cables, lights, etc.) that I might have forgotten? I haven't bought anything yet, and probably won't for 3-6 months, so the list could change by then, but here is a start. Please give whatever opinions you have!
NEC HT1000 Front Projector. I have read nothing but good things about this projector on these forums. (~$5000)
120" diagnal 4:3 screen. My wall will be about 12' across, so I was thinking about a 8' wide 4:3 screen. This will leave room for the speakers on either side. I'm not sure if I'll purchase a screen or go the DIY route. Maybe I'll create my own screen to start out with, and then buy one in the future. ($100-$2000)
Denon 3803. I bought a Denon reciever about 10 years ago and loved it. I decided on the 3803 because I couldn't afford the 5803 ($1200)
Adire Encompass. (Adire Audio)
2 Kiris
3 Kanadas
1 Dharman
I first heard of Adire in Car audio Forums, and when I decided to build my Home Theater they were on the top of the list. I have also heard nothing but good things about their speakers. ($2100)
Home Theater PC
I work with computers for a living so this seems like a natural choice. I am still a little confused on what all the HTPC does. I know it will play DVDs, MP3s, and can be an HDTV reciever. What else will it do? ($1500)
DSS?
We currently have Directv. There is no Broadcast HDTV available in our area. What HD programming is available over Satelite? What new equipment will I need? Cable is not an option in our area. What will be needed to view local stations? Just an antena? ($?)
I'm thinking of two big couches for seats, with the back one raised.
How much can I expect cables/wires to cost for a setup like this?
Popcorn machine, movie posters, etc to be added in the future.