Opinions on Getting Mains with Good Bass for Music

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Doug_B, Aug 17, 2001.

1. Doug_B

Doug_B Screenwriter

I'm looking for some feedback from those who have purchased floorstanding mains as part of their HT system and who value good bass response for their 2 channel music (I guess that's just about everyone who likes music [​IMG] ). I have been doing the HT speaker hunt for a few months. I had been living with a 2 speaker system for my entire audio life (~ 25 years), including floorstanders with good bass for almost 20 years (but they died last year). Due to this heritage, I have up to this point been looking at floorstanders that have decent bass response. Even though I plan on getting an SVS sub with my system (can I ignore all the posts?), I feel the need for my mains to be able to handle my music needs down low, supporting mostly classic rock plus offshoots.
    I'd like to know what other folks have discovered that have gone down this path, relative to how their subs help the low end for 2 channel music. More recently, my auditions have included more listening to a sub working hand-in-hand with the mains for music, albeit the sound isn't quite as integrated as mains that have good punch down low (haven't heard an SVS yet). More specifically, I am quite impressed with the Paradigm Studio 100s (not just for bass) and have no doubt that all my 2 channel music needs can be accommodated by them. But I'm also auditioning other mains that don't have the same slam as the 100s and am not sure if a sub will sound quite as good as "hefty" mains such as the 100s do for my music. Basically, I'm just feeling insecure about not having good bass in my mains and am wondering if these feelings are ill-founded. Of course, only I can be the final judge, but I won't have the opportunity to demo mains with an SVS until I've narrowed down the selection to a few and hopefully be able to bring them home for a demo.