Opinions on best receiver for B&W speakers

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by JimMIT, Jan 20, 2004.

1. JimMIT

JimMIT Stunt Coordinator

Jim
    Hi folks. I'm new to HT and would like your help. I plan to "build" a modest system for a new home and need input on a receiver. After listening to a number of speakers, I'm leaning strongly toward B&W -- 602 S3's in front, an LCR60 center, CCM65's or CCM80's for surrounds and an ASW600 for the sub. I also liked the Paradigm Monitor 5's, but inasmuch as I will be placing the fronts in a cabinet, I need front ported speakers (so I'm told). As my budget will be somewhat limited, I've been looking at the following receivers (I've been unable to listen to all of them with the B&W's):

Denon AVR-1804
    Integra DTR-5.4
    Marantz SR5400
    NAD T742
    Onkyo TX-SR601
    Yamaha TX-V640

Your opinion(s) on which of these receivers are good matches for B&W speaker would be greatly appreciated. The more descriptive you can be the better, e.g., receiver A would make them sound too bright or receiver B is not powerful enough, etc.

FYI my room is 18'x18'x12' open to a kitchen, dining room and foyer. I have no back wall & only one side wall and the Mrs. is loath to see speakers on stands -- hence the in-ceiling speakers for surrounds.

Thanks in advance for your help.

2. CharlesD

CharlesD Screenwriter

Jim

I have 602 S3s and a LCR60 as well as 601s for the rears. Its not on your list but I just picked up a Rotel 1055 reciever and it works very well with the B&Ws (no surprise there.)

3. JimMIT

JimMIT Stunt Coordinator

Jim
    Charles

I understand Rotel makes a great product -- highly touted by many audiophiles -- however, it's out of my price range. Thanks.

Anyone else? Come on fellas -- help me out here!

4. chun howe

chun howe Stunt Coordinator

i have audition these speakers also.
    they also has Rotel as their demo setup for B&W.